F1 announces final 17 race calendar with four new races

F1 has today announced its final 2020 season calendar after adding four new races in Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi.

The first will take place at Istanbul Park in Turkey where F1 last raced in 2011, the next two will be at the Bahrain International circuit (becoming the third back to back race at the same track this season) the season will the end at the Yas Marina circuit in Abu Dhabi as has been the case since 2014.

Unlike the previous back to back races Bahrain may run on two different layouts with both the ‘oval-like’ outer circuit and the endurance layout (which was last used in 2010) potential options. Either way, these two will be called the Bahrain and Sakhir GP’s as happened in Austria.

Additionally, F1 also confirmed the cancellation of the Chinese GP which up to now had only been postponed but has yet officially cancel the Vietnam GP despite the new calendar confirming the race won’t go ahead.

A statement from F1 said:

“We can confirm that Turkey, Bahrain (hosting two races), and Abu Dhabi will be part of the revised season and want to express our thanks to the hard work of all our promoters and partners in making this 17-race season possible.

“Sadly, we will not be racing in China this season and want to thank our partner Juss Sports for their support and engagement in recent months and hugely look forward to returning to Shanghai next year.”

The statement also mentioned that some of the races would allow a small number of fans to attend the race for the first time, something the Russian GP organizers have already said they intend to do.

“We can confirm that a number of races in the revised 2020 season will be open to a limited number of fans, including hospitality, and we are working with each promoter to finalise the details.

“While we want to see as many fans as possible return as soon as it is safe to do so, our priority remains the safety of the Formula 1 community and the communities we visit, and we review fan access on this basis.”

You can view the full calendar here.

One thought on “F1 announces final 17 race calendar with four new races

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.