Revised 2020 calendar revealed

Formula one has today announced an initial calendar or 8 races as F1 gets back on track from July.

As previously mentioned the season will kick off in Austria with a double header on the 5th and 12th July. The second of these races is listed as the Steiermark GP which is the local name for the region the races takes place in.

As speculated the next race will be in Hungary on the 19th with a double header at Silverstone 2 weeks later. The second Silverstone race will also have a new name being called the ‘Formula 1 70th Anniversary GP’.

Spain will then make its return on the 16th August followed by Belgium on the 30th and Italy will round off the European leg on the 6th September.

“Due to the ongoing fluidity of the COVID-19 situation internationally, F1 will be finalising the details of the wider calendar and hope to publish that in the coming weeks with an expectation of having a total of 15-18 races before completing the season in December,” A statement from F1 said.

“F1 currently expect the opening races to be closed events but hope fans will be able to attend again when it is safe to do so.

The health and safety of all involved will continue to be priority number one, with Formula 1 and the FIA having a robust and detailed plan to ensure the races maintain the highest level of safety with strict procedures in place.”

It was also announced that all races on the current list will hold F2 and F3 events as well.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.