2018 F1 testing, day 6, round up

Ricciardo set a track record for the Barcelona circuit to top the timesheets while Mclaren hit problems again.


The 1:18.047 smashed Massa’s 2008 record for the fastest lap at the current configuration of the Catalunya track. And was set just after 1pm local time.

It was the first time a Red Bull or Mercedes had used the new pink hypersoft tyre with Hamilton going just 3 tenths slower than the Australian in the morning session when most were completing flying laps.

But the star of the show was Alonso with Mclaren seeming to have gone back to their old ways. After Vandoorne was stopped three times yesterday due to engine problems Alonso continued the run coming to a halt at the entry to turn 7.

He had already completed more laps than Vandoorne did yesterday and set the early pace ending the morning fourth fastest.

Vettel took over Ferrari’s running on Wednesday due to Raikkonen falling ill. He was third in the morning session.

The afternoon session saw most focus on race runs rather than fast laps.

This allowed Ricciardo’s morning record to remain the benchmark.

Despite illness, Raikkonen returned to car SF71H in the afternoon but could only add 49 laps to Vettel’s 66 and ended the day eighth fastest.

Toro Rosso’s Brendon Hartley was best of the rest in fifth with a time 0f 1:19.776 and 119 laps to his name. After his morning breakdown, Alonso was stuck in the garage for six hours while his engine was changed. He did, however, manage to get back out for 15 minutes allowing him to add 9 laps to his tally for the day.

Sainz followed with Grosjean, Raikkonen and Stroll splitting him from his teammate Hulkenberg.

Leclerc completed the second most laps with 160 to his name but could only manage thirteenth on the timesheets.


Final results are as follows

Name Team Time
1) Ricciardo Red Bull  1:18.047 165
2) Hamilton Mercedes  1:18.400 90
3) Bottas Mercedes  1:18.560 85
4) Vettel Ferrari 1:19.541 66
5) Hartley Toro Rosso  1:19.823 119
6) Alonso Mclaren  1:18.856 57
7) Sainz Renault  1:20.042 88
8) Grosjean Haas  1:20.237 78
9) Raikkonen Ferrari  1:20.242 49
10) Strool Williams 1:20.349 63
11) Hulkenberg Renault  1:20.758 102
12) Ocon Force India  1:20805 130
13) Leclerc Sauber  1:20.919 160
14) Sirotkin Williams  1:22.350 80

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.