2018 F1 calendar released

As France and Germany return to F1 the 2018 seasons first draft has been released with 21 races in total.

This matches 2016’s record for the most races in a season.

The main changes in the new calendar are the dropping of Malaysia which was announce earlier in the year, Baku is moved to an April slot and Russia to September.

The aforementioned French and German grand prixs will also return, the former for the first time since 2008.

The French race will also take place at the Paul Ricard circuit, which last hosted a race in 1990, and Germany at the Hockenheimring.

The calendar features F1’s first triple header with France (on the 24th June), Austria and Britain all following each other. This means that as has happened this year there will be no clash between Formula 1 and the Le Mans 24 hours race.

Formula 1 boss Chase Carey said:  “We wanted to finalise next season’s calendar early, so that all our stakeholders would have more time to prepare and we have managed it, thanks in part through working closely with the FIA,

“The number of races has increased by one compared to the current season. We received numerous requests from those wishing to host a Formula 1 Grand Prix but we wanted the existing promoters to feel that we are putting all our efforts into ensuring that each race is a special event, so that the fans, our most important stakeholders, can enjoy a unique and unforgettable experience.

“If we can do that, then the entire Formula 1 family will reap the benefit.”

The FIA president Jean Todt also said:  “Alongside our partners in Formula 1 and across the FIA’s major championships we have been working hard in recent months to achieve greater harmony among the various sporting calendars and reaching an early agreement on the 2018 Formula 1 schedule is part of this ongoing process.

“The FIA would also like to welcome back the French and German Grands Prix to the calendar, as both have a long and rich tradition in the sport.

“In that regard the FIA is particularly pleased that Formula 1 will once again return to France, the historic home of grand prix racing, and to the Circuit Paul Ricard, which last hosted the event in 1990.”


The revealed calendar is below:

25 March- Australia

8 April- China (TBC)

15 April- Bahrain

29 April- Azerbaijan

13 May- Spain

27 May- Monaco

10 June- Canada

24 June- France

1 July- Austria

8 July- Britain

22 July- Germany

29 July- Hungary

26 August- Belgium

2 September- Italy

16 September- Singapore (TBC)

30 September- Russia

7 October- Japan

21 October- USA

28 October- Mexico

11 November- Brazil

25 November- Abu Dhabi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.